It was a depressive and drunken night when Den Saakaldte was born. Alkohol made things clear. Den Saakaldte formed back in May of 2006, under the candlelight of the fullmoon. The project started as a 'one man band' project, by Sykelig. It's only purpose?...To be the way of expressing the paranoia, depression and alkohol influenced thoughts of the individual. Den Saakaldte as a meaning, stands for every person that is not or doesn't feel a part of the 'normal' society.

Sykelig recorded the first two songs in Hellas and after that relocated once and for good to Norway. Sykelig joined forces with Jormungand - keys (DHG), Seidemann - bass (1349, Pantheon I) and Niklas Kvarforth (Shining). The drums back then were performed by the talented musician, S. Winter (ex-Aeternus, ex-Gehenna).

Den Saakaldte re-recorded in Oslo and Stravanger, in actual basements, and mixed this material that was entitled "Ol, Morke Og Depresjon" and got limited edition release, from Eerie at Art Records. One month after the release, the band perform for the first time live, by headlining at the Inferno Festival 2008 in Norway, delivering a mystical, bizarre and sick setlist. The band received positive feedback from the fans and the press and the first contacts with Avantgarde Music started.

In the summer of 2008, Jarle aka Uruz takes the place behind the drum kit and Den Saakaldte signs with Avantgarde Music. The title for the debut album gets revealed in the words of "All Hail Pessimism".

In Autumn of 2008, the split EP Shining/ Den Saakaldte gets released by Temple Of Darkness Records. A limited to 1000 copies release, in gatefold and picture disc, with live material from both bands.

With the beginning of the year 2009, Den Saakaldte gets confirmed for headlining the Inferno Festival kick off this time, and for performing at the Party San Open Air Festival in Germany. In February the album "All Hail Pessimism" gets released by Avantgarde Music and Den Saakaldte gets great feedback for their live performance at the Inferno Festival kick off.

Later in 2009, Den Saakaldte agree to re-issue the "Ol, Morke Og Depresjon" material, along with bonus live and rehearsal tracks, on UK label Aesthetic Death - which is released at the start of 2010 on limited digipack CD and ultra limited 2LP (along with bottle openers!).

At this time an extensive European tour and festival schedule is announced - alongside the news that Den Saakaldte have signed to Pulverized Records.


  • Ol, Morke Og Depresion - CD - Eerie Art - 2007
  • split 7" - w/ Shining - Temple Of Darkness - 2007
  • Ol, Morke Og Depresion - CD - Eerie Art - 2008
  • All Hail Pessimism - CD - Avantgarde - 2009
  • Ol, Morke Og Depresion - limited digi CD - Aesthetic Death - 2010
  • Ol, Morke Og Depresion - 2LP - Aesthetic Death - 2010
  • Ol, Morke Og Depresion - tape - Bylec Tum - 2014
  • Kapittel II: Faen Il Helvete - CD - Agonia - 2014
  • split w/ Horna - 7" - Blut & Eisen - 2014
  • split w/ Varathron - 7" - Floga - 2014
  • split w/ Principality of Hell - 7" - Floga - 2015
  • All Hail Pessimism - A5 digi CD - Soulseller - 2015